A smoking gun video clip shows the exact second the umpire broke Geelong’s heart with a baffling call in the thriller against Sydney.
Damning video footage has revealed the baffling call made by the umpire in the last-gasp play in Sydney’s controversial win over Geelong on Saturday night.
A clip showed on Fox Footy’s AFL 360 on Monday night exposed the call was fundamentally wrong on several counts — but it will be cold comfort for the Cats.
Jeremy Cameron thought he’d taken a mark next to goal with just a few seconds remaining and earnt the right to kick the matchwinning major, but the umpire decided the ball didn’t travel 15m and instead went for a boundary throw-in.
Watch the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season. Every match of every round Live on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >
The Cats also cried out for a holding-the-ball free kick at the very end when Sydney’s James Rowbottom dived on the Sherrin from the resulting throw-in, but the officials kept their whistles quiet and the visitors were left to rue what might have been.
The controversy reached new depths on Monday when vision emerged of the umpire making the call to stamp out Cameron’s mark while the ball had travelled less than half the 21.8m it eventually covered.
“The umpire gives up on this ball less than half way through its trajectory,” host Gerrard Whateley said.
“At 9.2m is the first time he started to call ‘not 15, play on’ for a ball that ended up travelling 21.8m. That’s not the job. The job is to see how far the ball travels and then to estimate whether it went 15m or not.”
Cats coach Chris Scott wasn’t playing the blame game after he had every right to feel dudded by a controversial umpiring call in the dying stages of Sydney’s nailbiting 14.6 (90) to 12.16 (88) win over Geelong on Saturday night.
“I’ve looked at the vision. It’s clear it did (go 15m),” Scott said in his post-match press conference.
“But it’s a different perspective for the umpire, he can’t go back and replay the vision. They’re tough calls.
“If Cameron had’ve had that shot, he’s the best person to have the left footer from that spot. He rarely misses from there.
“They have a bit of a recent history of coming out and admitting their mistakes, which I think is probably the right thing to do.”
AFL umpires boss Dan Richardson on Sunday conceded the umpire got it wrong.
Richardson said he had called Geelong coach Chris Scott and left a message on Sunday morning but was yet to make direct contact about the decisions.
“It was the view of the umpire at the time the ball had not travelled 15 metres. Upon video review this morning we have deemed the ball travelled the required distance and should have been paid a mark. We support the non-holding the ball decision which occurred moments later,” he said.